Worthington's only two market-rate home sales set a wide price gap
WORTHINGTON -- Ten property transfers were recorded in Worthington during the four weeks ending Sept. 12, according to Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records, but only three of those transactions disclosed a sale price.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 10 deed transfers between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12. Of those, three carried a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $21,400 to $566,200, with a median of $120,000 among the disclosed sales. The remaining seven transfers listed no sale price, which is common for deed records and does not necessarily indicate a $0 or below-market transaction. Based on raw count alone, 10 recorded transfers over four weeks is a modest but not unusual volume for a small town; the data here does not support characterizing the period as active or quiet without a prior-month comparison.
TOP SALES 44 Goss Hill Rd sold for $566,200 on Sept. 4, the highest disclosed price of the period. William T. Sampson Jr. was the seller; the buyer of record was First World Mortgage Corp., with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. named on the deed. 211 West St sold for $120,000 on Aug. 21; James O. Mendelsohn was the seller, and Georgia and Joseph Metz were the buyers. 183 Starkweather Hill Rd sold for $21,400 on Aug. 24; Hannah Donner was the seller, and Greenfield Cooperative Bank was the buyer. No other transactions in the period disclosed a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two streets had multiple recorded transfers. West Street had two: 494 West St (price not disclosed, Aug. 31) and 211 West St ($120,000, Aug. 21). Old North Road also had two: 17 Old North Rd (price not disclosed, Sept. 4) and 263 Old North Rd (price not disclosed, Aug. 18). By price tier among the three disclosed sales, one fell under $500,000 in the sub-$150,000 range ($21,400 and $120,000) and one exceeded $500,000 ($566,200). The seven undisclosed-price transfers cannot be sorted into tiers.
MARKET NOTES Florence Bank was the recorded seller in three transactions: 494 West St, 263 Old North Rd and 496 Old Post Rd, all with prices not disclosed. Two transfers, at 455 Williamsburg Rd and 90 Patterson Rd, list "Declaration of Homestead" as the buyer, a legal filing rather than a conventional sale to a new owner. The 44 Goss Hill Rd transaction named First World Mortgage Corp. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as buyers, and the 17 Old North Rd transaction named Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (MERS) as seller, both reflecting mortgage-related recordings rather than typical buyer-to-buyer sales. At 140 Cudworth Rd, the buyer of record was Sunrun Inc., a solar energy company; the deed data does not specify the nature of that transfer. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data is available from deed records, and property type (single-family, condominium or multi-family) is not specified in this dataset.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 496 Old Post Rd | Florence Bank | Lapointe Patricia A | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 90 Patterson Rd | Conlon Donna | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 18 | 263 Old North Rd | Florence Bank | Hannan Laurence S; Hollister Darryl L | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 211 West St | Mendelsohn James O | Metz Georgia; Metz Joseph | $120,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 24 | 183 Starkweather Hill Rd | Donner Hannah | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $21,400 |
| Aug 24 | 140 Cudworth Rd | Noel Douglas A | Sunrun Inc | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 455 Williamsburg Rd | Oliver Laura L | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 494 West St | Florence Bank | Rutkowski William J Jr.; Rutkowski Carol R | Not disclosed |
| Sep 4 | 44 Goss Hill Rd | Sampson William T Jr. | First World Mortgage Corp; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $566,200 |
| Sep 4 | 17 Old North Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Walkowiak Cai | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.