West Street's $5.4 Million Deal Skews Wide Price Range Despite Sparse Disclosures
HATFIELD -- A single commercial-scale transaction on West Street accounted for the vast majority of disclosed sale value in Hatfield over the past month, while most of the 14 properties that changed hands did not carry a stated price.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded 14 property transfers in Hatfield between July 17 and August 15. Only five of those 14 deeds disclosed a sale price. Among the five, prices ranged from $40,000 to $5,422,500, with a median of $175,000. The other nine transfers, several involving banks or mortgage companies as a party, did not list a consideration amount. Because price data is missing from nearly two-thirds of recorded transfers, the disclosed range and median describe a small slice of the period's activity, not the full market.
TOP SALES 4 West Street sold for $5,422,500 on Aug. 3, the highest disclosed price of the period. West Street Associates LLC sold the property to Holdings LLC. 24 Depot Road sold for $310,000 on July 21. Darryl and Lucinda Williams sold the property to Farm Credit East ACA. 137 Elm Street sold for $175,000 on July 27. Brian D. McGrath transferred the property to Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. 0 Straits Road sold for $157,000 on July 31. Derek and Nicole Waslick sold the property to William Osgood. 61 Plain Road sold for $40,000 on July 28. Fraser R. Stowe sold the property to Lisa A. Keller.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Four streets recorded two transfers apiece during the period. Chestnut Street saw deeds at 92 Chestnut St. and 140 Chestnut St., both sold by Florence Bank; neither disclosed a price. Plain Road saw deeds at 69 Plain Rd., sold by Florence Bank with no price disclosed, and 61 Plain Rd., which sold for $40,000. Linseed Road saw deeds at 44 Linseed Rd. and 182 Linseed Rd., neither with a disclosed price. Main Street saw deeds at 62 Main St. Unit 1 and 474 Main St., also without disclosed prices. The remaining transfers, at 4 West Street, 24 Depot Road, 137 Elm Street, 0 Straits Road, 83 School Street and an address listed only as "Hatfield, MA," were single transactions on their respective streets.
MARKET NOTES Banks were the seller of record on six of the 14 deeds: Florence Bank sold three properties (69 Plain Rd., 92 Chestnut St. and 140 Chestnut St.), PeoplesBank sold two (83 School St. and 62 Main St. Unit 1), and Greenfield Cooperative Bank sold one (474 Main St.). None of those six deeds disclosed a sale price. Two other deeds involved mortgage-industry entities rather than a conventional buyer-seller pair: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. transferred 182 Linseed Rd. to Onity Mortgage Corp. and PHH Mortgage Corp., and Brian D. McGrath's 137 Elm Street deed named Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as buyer. One deed with no street address listed only "Hatfield, MA" as the location, with Derek and Nicole Waslick as seller and the Town of Hatfield as buyer; no price was disclosed. A deed at 44 Linseed Road listed the buyer as "Declaration of Homestead," a legal filing rather than a conventional sale. Given that six of 14 recorded deeds involved a bank as seller and two others involved mortgage-servicing companies as a party, deed activity in Hatfield this period reflects more than typical owner-to-owner residential sales.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17 | 182 Linseed Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Onity Mortgage Corp; Phh Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 474 Main St | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Venne Rene J Jr.; Venne Donna M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21 | 24 Depot Rd | Williams Darryl; Williams Lucinda | Farm Credit East Aca | $310,000 |
| Jul 21 | 140 Chestnut St | Florence Bank | Mcglew Susan P; Mcglew Edwin N III | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 137 Elm St | Mcgrath Brian D | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $175,000 |
| Jul 28 | 61 Plain Rd | Stowe Fraser R | Keller Lisa A | $40,000 |
| Jul 28 | 44 Linseed Rd | Siegel Jennifer | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 0 Straits Rd | Waslick Derek; Waslick Nicole | Osgood William | $157,000 |
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Waslick Derek; Waslick Nicole | Hatfield Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 83 School St | Peoplesbank | Fleig Amy E; Reis Antonio M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 62 Main St Unit 1 | Peoplesbank | Kieras Marianne S | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 4 West Street | West Street Associates LLC; West Street Associates LLC | Holdings LLC | $5,422,500 |
| Aug 5 | 69 Plain Rd | Florence Bank | Steele David A; Steele Cherie J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 92 Chestnut St | Florence Bank | Vollinger Donald E; Havlir Carol | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.