Sign in Subscribe

Plainfield Sale Prices Range Widely as $440,000 Home Tops August Deeds

PLAINFIELD -- Eight property transfers were recorded in Plainfield between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $20,000 to $440,000 and a median of $25,000 among the four transactions that listed a price.

MARKET OVERVIEW

The registry recorded eight instruments involving Plainfield addresses during the period. Of those, four disclosed a sale price: $20,000, $25,000, $25,000 and $440,000, producing a median of $25,000. The other four gave no consideration amount, which is standard for many recorded deeds and does not necessarily indicate anything unusual about the transfer. Based on raw count alone, eight recordings in a four-week span is a modest but not sparse pace for a small town. The four disclosed prices cluster at the low end, with one transaction, the $440,000 sale on South Central Street, standing well above the rest.

TOP SALES

234 South Central St. sold for $440,000 on Aug. 28, the highest disclosed price of the period. Sellers Matthew Ingellis and Payton Atwell conveyed the property to buyer April Joy Littlefield.

27 East St. and 91 Pleasant St. each sold for $25,000, both recorded Aug. 26. At 27 East St., sellers Michelle Dupuis and Michelle Helms conveyed to Citizens Bank NA. At 91 Pleasant St., sellers Daniel J. Shearer and Tabitha M. Shearer conveyed to Greenfield Savings Bank.

257 South Central St. sold for $20,000 on Aug. 31. Sellers Erin Dill and Erin L. Dill conveyed the property to Florence Bank.

No other transactions in the period disclosed a sale price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN

South Central Street accounted for three of the eight recorded transfers during the period: 257 South Central St. ($20,000), 234 South Central St. ($440,000) and 288 South Central St. (price not disclosed), making it the most active street in the dataset. The remaining five transfers were spread across five different streets: Bow Street, East Main Street, East Street, Pleasant Street and South Street, with one recording each. By price tier, all four disclosed sales fell under $500,000, with three at or below $25,000 and one, the South Central Street sale, at $440,000.

MARKET NOTES

Three of the eight recorded instruments named a bank as grantee rather than an individual buyer: Florence Bank (257 South Central St.), Citizens Bank NA (27 East St.) and Greenfield Savings Bank (91 Pleasant St.). Each of those three also carried the lowest disclosed prices in the dataset, $20,000 or $25,000. Three other recordings were not property sales in the conventional sense: the Bow Street entry lists a Declaration of Homestead, the South Central Street entry at 288 lists a Certificate of Trust, and the South Street entry lists a Notice of Alternative Sewage Disposal System, each recorded against the property rather than reflecting a change of ownership to a new individual buyer. Readers should note that the eight-item count for the period includes these non-sale filings alongside actual property transfers; only two transfers in the dataset, the $440,000 South Central Street sale and the price-undisclosed sale of 278 East Main St. from the Town of Plainfield to Matthew Stowell, read as conventional buyer-to-buyer or town-to-buyer sales with an individual named as grantee.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 14109 South StHolder Elaine QNotice Of Alternative Sewage Disposal SystemNot disclosed
Aug 24 - Aug 30
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 2627 East StDupuis Michelle; Helms MichelleCitizens Bank Na$25,000
Aug 2691 Pleasant StShearer Daniel J; Shearer Tabitha MGreenfield Savings Bank$25,000
Aug 27278 East Main StPlainfield TownStowell MatthewNot disclosed
Aug 27288 South Central StMaurer Erik E; Maurer Erik E Tr.Certificate Of TrustNot disclosed
Aug 28234 South Central StIngellis Matthew; Atwell PaytonLittlefield April Joy$440,000
Aug 31 - Sep 6
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 31257 South Central StDill Erin; Dill Erin LFlorence Bank$20,000
Sep 144 Bow StWooldridge ErinDeclaration Of HomesteadNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Hampshire County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe