Only Two of 13 Chesterfield Deeds Recorded a Disclosed Sale Price
CHESTERFIELD -- Thirteen deeds were recorded in Chesterfield between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only two carried a disclosed sale price, limiting what the data can show about the broader local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Of the 13 recorded transactions, two included a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $65,000 to $340,000, with a median of $202,500 based on those two figures. The remaining 11 deeds were marked price not disclosed, which is common for deed records and does not necessarily indicate a below-market or above-market transaction. Because the median rests on just two disclosed prices, it should not be read as representative of typical home values in town this period. Taken on raw count alone, 13 recorded deeds over a four-week span is a moderate volume for a small town; without comparable figures from other periods, it is not possible to characterize the pace as active or quiet.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 9 Ireland St, which sold Aug. 14 for $340,000. The sellers were Susan E. Lavallee and Alan P. Lavallee; the buyer was Citizens Bank NA. The second disclosed sale was 23 Bissell Rd, which sold Sept. 4 for $65,000, from seller Dorothea C. Hanson to buyer Florence Bank. No other deeds in this period included a disclosed sale price. Among the undisclosed-price transactions, notable transfers included 309 Ireland St, sold Aug. 25 from Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (MERS) to buyers Jennifer Marston and Alison Watts; 588 Main Rd, sold Sept. 11 from UMassFive College Federal Credit Union to buyer Patricia O'Brien; and 59 Cummington Rd, sold Aug. 21 from Freedom Credit Union to buyers Jesse T. McMillan and Jessica L. McMillan.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Two street names each had two recorded transfers this period. Sugar Hill Road saw deeds at 272 Sugar Hill Rd (Sept. 9) and 211 Sugar Hill Rd (Aug. 14), both price not disclosed. Cummington Road had adjacent transfers at 55 Cummington Rd and 59 Cummington Rd, both recorded Aug. 21 and both price not disclosed. Ireland Street had the two transfers noted above, one with a disclosed price of $340,000 and one undisclosed. The remaining sales were scattered across Main Road, Bissell Road, Willcutt Road, Bofat Hill Road, North Road and South Street, plus one entry with no street address listed in the data. By price tier, of the two disclosed sales, one fell under $100,000 (23 Bissell Rd, $65,000) and one fell in the $300,000-$400,000 range (9 Ireland St, $340,000). The remaining 11 transfers have no disclosed price and cannot be sorted into a tier.
MARKET NOTES
Banks or credit unions appear as either the buyer or seller in five of the 13 recorded deeds: Florence Bank (23 Bissell Rd, 55 Cummington Rd), Freedom Credit Union (59 Cummington Rd), UMassFive College Federal Credit Union (588 Main Rd), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (309 Ireland St) and Citizens Bank NA (9 Ireland St). That pattern is consistent with foreclosure-related or bank-mediated transfers rather than open-market sales between unrelated private parties, though the data does not specify the nature of each transaction. Three deeds involved trusts or family members transferring property to themselves or relatives: the Lori A. Carey Revocable Trust (272 Sugar Hill Rd), the Roger Fuller Living Trust (31 North Rd), and a transfer from Lynn D. Martus to Lynn D. Martus and Kevin M. Martus (211 Sugar Hill Rd). Two entries involved the town of Chesterfield directly, one as buyer of a property from John M. and Eric N. Fiegenbaum, and one tied to the town's Environmental Affairs office at 5 South St. A separate entry, 53 Bofat Hill Rd, reflects a special permit decision involving Verizon Wireless and SBA Communications rather than a residential sale. No bedroom, bathroom, square-footage or property-type data was available from the deed records, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons or housing-type breakdowns can be reported. Overall, with 11 of 13 deeds lacking a disclosed price, this period's recorded activity skewed toward foreclosure, trust and municipal transfers rather than traditional sales between unrelated buyers and sellers.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 9 Ireland St | Lavallee Susan E; Lavallee Alan P | Citizens Bank Na | $340,000 |
| Aug 14 | 211 Sugar Hill Rd | Martus Lynn D | Martus Lynn D; Martus Kevin M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 31 North Rd | Fuller Roger Tr.; Roger Fuller Living Trust | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 17 | 5 South St | Chesterfield Town; Environmental Affairs | Project Agreement | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 55 Cummington Rd | Florence Bank | Laliberte Debra C | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 59 Cummington Rd | Freedom Credit Union | Mcmillan Jesse T; Mcmillan Jessica L | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25 | 309 Ireland St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Marston Jennifer; Watts Alison | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 2 | 180 Willcutt Rd | Papillon Nancy M | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Sep 2 | 53 Bofat Hill Rd | Verizon Wireless; Sba Communications | Decision Regarding Special Permit | Not disclosed |
| Sep 4 | 23 Bissell Rd | Hanson Dorothea C; Hanson Dorothea | Florence Bank | $65,000 |
| Sep 4 | (no address) | Fiegenbaum John M; Fiegenbaum Eric N | Chesterfield Town | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Sep 9 | 272 Sugar Hill Rd | Carey Lori A Tr.; Lori A Carey Revocable Trust | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Sep 11 | 588 Main Rd | Umassfive College Federal Credit Union | Obrien Patricia | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.