Only One of Nine Cummington Sales in August Discloses a Purchase Price
CUMMINGTON -- Nine properties recorded transfers at the Hampshire County Registry of Deeds between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5, but just one of those transactions disclosed a sale price, leaving most of the period's activity without a dollar figure attached.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Deed records show nine property transfers in Cummington during the four-week period. Of those, one sale disclosed a consideration amount: $30,000 for 47 Main St. That single figure sets both the reported price range ($30,000 to $30,000) and the reported median ($30,000), though with only one disclosed price, those figures describe that single transaction rather than a broader market range. The remaining eight transfers, or nearly 90 percent of recorded activity, listed no sale price. Based on raw count alone, nine recorded transfers is a moderate volume for a small town over four weeks, but the near-total absence of price data means no conclusion can be drawn about whether values are rising, falling or holding steady.
TOP SALES
47 Main St. sold for $30,000 on Aug. 17, the only transaction in this period with a disclosed price. The deed lists Lyle M. Hazel and Lyle Hazel as sellers and Florence Bank as the buyer.
No other transaction in the period disclosed a sale price, so the remaining eight transfers cannot be ranked by value. They are listed here in order of recording date: 0 Mount Rd. (Sept. 4, sellers John Mark Fiegenbaum and Eric Norton Fiegenbaum, buyer Cummington Town); 21 Dodwells Rd. (Sept. 1, seller Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., buyer Robert W. Jensen); an unaddressed Cummington parcel (Aug. 31, seller and buyer both listed as Daniel B. Johnson and Ellen H. Johnson); 36 Powell Rd. (Aug. 28, seller Greylock Federal Credit Union, buyers Angela D. Williams and Angela D. Golembeski); 130 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 21, seller Adams Community Bank, buyer Judith M. Suriner); 162 Nash Rd. (Aug. 17, seller Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., buyers Jill Figlozzi and Eric M. Smith); 0 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14, sellers Mark G. Bevan and Diane R. Bevan, buyer Cummington Town); and 83 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14, seller James Edward Bernhard, listed grantee Declaration of Homestead).
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Porter Hill Road accounted for three of the nine recorded transfers, the largest concentration on a single street during the period: 130 Porter Hill Rd., 0 Porter Hill Rd. and 83 Porter Hill Rd. all recorded transactions between Aug. 14 and Aug. 21. The remaining six transfers were spread across six separate locations, Mount Road, Dodwells Road, Powell Road, Main Street, Nash Road and one unaddressed Cummington parcel, with no other street repeating. By price tier, only one transaction can be classified: the $30,000 sale at 47 Main St. falls under $500,000. The other eight transfers cannot be placed into a price tier because no consideration amount was recorded.
MARKET NOTES
Four of the nine transactions listed a bank or mortgage-registration entity as either seller or buyer: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. appears as seller on both the Dodwells Road and Nash Road transfers, Greylock Federal Credit Union as seller on the Powell Road transfer, Adams Community Bank as seller on the Porter Hill Road transfer, and Florence Bank as buyer on the Main Street transfer. Together, these five entries mean more than half the period's recorded transfers involved a lending institution on one side of the deed. Cummington Town appears as buyer on two deeds, for 0 Mount Rd. and 0 Porter Hill Rd. One transfer, the unaddressed Cummington parcel recorded Aug. 31, lists the same names, Daniel B. Johnson and Ellen H. Johnson, as both seller and buyer. The Aug. 14 deed for 83 Porter Hill Rd. lists "Declaration of Homestead" as the grantee, a designation distinct from the buyer names recorded on the other eight deeds. Bed, bath and square-footage data were not available from the registry records for any property in this period, and no property type designation was provided.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 0 Porter Hill Rd | Bevan Mark G; Bevan Diane R | Cummington Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 83 Porter Hill Rd | Bernhard James Edward | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 47 Main St | Hazel Lyle M; Hazel Lyle | Florence Bank | $30,000 |
| Aug 17 | 162 Nash Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Figlozzi Jill; Smith Eric M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 130 Porter Hill Rd | Adams Community Bank | Suriner Judith M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 28 | 36 Powell Rd | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Williams Angela D; Golembeski Angela D | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | (no address) | Johnson Daniel B; Johnson Ellen H | Johnson Daniel B; Johnson Ellen H | Not disclosed |
| Sep 1 | 21 Dodwells Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Jensen Robert W | Not disclosed |
| Sep 4 | 0 Mount Rd | Fiegenbaum John Mark; Fiegenbaum Eric Norton | Cummington Town | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.