Hatfield Deed Prices Range Widely As Median Sale Hits $167,000
HATFIELD -- Eleven property deeds were recorded in Hatfield between July 10 and Aug. 8, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $40,000 to $310,000, according to Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records. Only five of the 11 filings included a disclosed sale price, with a median of $167,000 among those five.
MARKET OVERVIEW Hatfield recorded 11 deed transactions during the four-week period. The raw count reflects a moderate level of recording activity for the town, though it is difficult to characterize the period as active or quiet on price alone, since fewer than half the filings, five of 11, disclosed a consideration amount. Among those five, prices ranged from $40,000 for 61 Plain Rd to $310,000 for 24 Depot Rd, producing a median of $167,000. The remaining six entries, covering properties on Linseed Road, Chestnut Street, Main Street and Prospect Street, along with one estate transfer to the town, did not include a recorded sale price.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 24 Depot Rd, which sold for $310,000 on July 21. Sellers Darryl Williams and Lucinda Williams transferred the property to Farm Credit East ACA.
137 Elm St sold for $175,000 on July 27. Seller Brian D. McGrath transferred the property to Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
28 Chestnut St sold for $167,000 on July 16. Seller Martin G. Leary transferred the property to Traders Trust Co. and T Bank.
96 Straits Rd sold for $150,000 on July 15. Sellers Michael Ferraro and Joyce E. Ferraro transferred the property to Florence Bank.
61 Plain Rd sold for $40,000 on July 28. Seller Fraser R. Stowe transferred the property to Lisa A. Keller.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two streets recorded more than one transfer during the period. Linseed Road had two filings: 44 Linseed Rd, price not disclosed, recorded July 28, and 182 Linseed Rd, price not disclosed, recorded July 17. Chestnut Street also had two filings: 28 Chestnut St, $167,000, recorded July 16, and 140 Chestnut St, price not disclosed, recorded July 21. No other street had more than one recorded transfer in the dataset.
MARKET NOTES Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available in the deed records reviewed for this report. A bank, mortgage company, trust, estate or municipality was named as grantor or grantee in 10 of the 11 recorded deeds. Entities appearing in the records include Farm Credit East ACA, Rocket Mortgage LLC, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Traders Trust Co., T Bank, Florence Bank, Greenfield Cooperative Bank, and Onity Mortgage Corp./PHH Mortgage Corp. Florence Bank appears on both sides of the dataset, as seller of 140 Chestnut St and buyer of 96 Straits Rd. Only one filing, the July 28 transfer of 61 Plain Rd from Fraser R. Stowe to Lisa A. Keller for $40,000, recorded as a transaction between two individuals with no bank, trust or institutional party involved. Separately, the Wendolowski Family Trust transferred 131 Prospect St to Greenfield Cooperative Bank, the estate of Stanley Sadowski transferred a property to the town of Hatfield, and a declaration of homestead was filed for 44 Linseed Rd.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 15 | 96 Straits Rd | Ferraro Michael; Ferraro Joyce E | Florence Bank | $150,000 |
| Jul 15 | 131 Prospect St | Wendolowski Family Trust | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Not disclosed |
| Jul 16 | 28 Chestnut St | Leary Martin G | Traders Trust Co; T Bank | $167,000 |
| Jul 17 | 182 Linseed Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Onity Mortgage Corp; Phh Mortgage Corp | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 474 Main St | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | Venne Rene J Jr.; Venne Donna M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 21 | 24 Depot Rd | Williams Darryl; Williams Lucinda | Farm Credit East Aca | $310,000 |
| Jul 21 | 140 Chestnut St | Florence Bank | Mcglew Susan P; Mcglew Edwin N III | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 137 Elm St | Mcgrath Brian D | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $175,000 |
| Jul 28 | 61 Plain Rd | Stowe Fraser R | Keller Lisa A | $40,000 |
| Jul 28 | 44 Linseed Rd | Siegel Jennifer | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 28 | (no address) | Sadowski Stanley Est | Hatfield Town | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.