Sign in Subscribe

Goshen Deed Prices Stay Thin as Most July Sales Go Undisclosed

GOSHEN -- Eleven property-related deeds were recorded in Goshen between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only two disclosed a sale price, both under $50,000, according to Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records.

MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 11 transactions in the four-week period. Of those, two included a disclosed consideration amount: $20,000 and $40,000, for a median of $30,000 among disclosed sales. The remaining nine of 11 records did not list a price. The volume of recorded documents, 11 in four weeks, reflects the full range of instruments the registry files under real estate, not only arm's-length home sales; several entries are trust, estate, bank and regulatory filings rather than conventional buyer-seller transactions.

TOP SALES Because only two of the 11 recorded transactions included a disclosed price, the top sales list is limited to those two.

The higher of the two, at $40,000, involved a property on 27 Fuller Rd., recorded July 22. The sellers were Jessica S. Thompson and Gregory M. Thompson; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank.

The second disclosed sale, at $20,000, was recorded July 31 with no street address listed in the deed. The seller was Chad M. Moran; the buyers were Lynn M. Moran, trustee, and Michael J. Moran Jr., trustee.

No other recorded transactions in the period disclosed a sale price.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN No street in the dataset had more than one recorded transaction under the identical address. Two separate entries listed similar addresses: 128 Spruce Corner Rd. (recorded July 29, seller Berube James L. and Mary L. Berube, trustees) and 128 Spruce Hill Corner Rd. (also recorded July 29, sellers Isabella Yeager and Christopher Byrne); the deed records list these as distinct road names.

Because only two of the 11 transactions carried a disclosed price, a price-tier breakdown is not meaningful for this period. Both disclosed sales, $20,000 and $40,000, fell well below typical single-family home values.

MARKET NOTES Most of the 11 recorded documents were not conventional buyer-to-buyer home sales. Two involved Florence Bank as seller: 58 Dresser Hill Rd. (buyers Ronald A. Murphy and Patricia A. Murphy) and 644 East St. (buyers Neil C. Godden and Danielle M. Godden). One involved a bank as buyer: 8 Berkshire Trail E., where Deborah A. Pratt was the seller and Cross River Bank the buyer.

Other filings reflect trust, estate and regulatory activity rather than sales: a certificate of trust tied to 128 Spruce Corner Rd. (Berube trustees), an affidavit regarding estate tax tied to 80 Main St. (Kim J. Dresser and the estate of Ruth M. Dresser), a declaration of homestead tied to 128 Spruce Hill Corner Rd. (Yeager and Byrne), an order of conditions tied to 115 Aberdeen Rd. (Goshen Town Conservation and Tom Jenkins), a recreational land tax lien tied to 0 Sears Rd. (Martha Monaghan and the Goshen Town Assessors), and a notice of alternative sewage disposal system tied to 78 Shaw Rd. (seller Sandra J. Wentzel).

No beds, baths or square footage figures were available in the deed data. Of the 11 recorded transactions, two disclosed a sale price, nine did not.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Jul 13 - Jul 19
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 1678 Shaw RdWentzel Sandra JNotice Of Alternative Sewage Disposal SystemNot disclosed
Jul 20 - Jul 26
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 2227 Fuller RdThompson Jessica S; Thompson Gregory MGreenfield Cooperative Bank$40,000
Jul 27 - Aug 2
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 270 Sears RdMonaghan Martha; Goshen Town AssessorsRecreational Land Tax LienNot disclosed
Jul 28644 East StFlorence BankGodden Neil C; Godden Danielle MNot disclosed
Jul 29128 Spruce Corner RdBerube James L Tr.; Berube Mary L Tr.Certificate Of TrustNot disclosed
Jul 2980 Main StDresser Kim J; Dresser Ruth M EstAffidavit Regarding Estate TaxNot disclosed
Jul 29128 Spruce Hill Corner RdYeager Isabella; Byrne ChristopherDeclaration Of HomesteadNot disclosed
Jul 31(no address)Moran Chad MMoran Lynn M Tr.; Moran Michael J Jr. Tr.$20,000
Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 48 Berkshire Trail EPratt Deborah ACross River BankNot disclosed
Aug 658 Dresser Hill RdFlorence BankMurphy Ronald A; Murphy Patricia ANot disclosed
Aug 7115 Aberdeen RdGoshen Town Conservation; Jenkins TomOrder Of ConditionsNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Hampshire County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe