Cummington Sale Prices Range From $40,000 To $265,000 In Deeds
CUMMINGTON -- Eight property transfers were recorded in Cummington between July 17 and August 15, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $40,000 to $265,000 and a median of $140,000 among the three transactions that included a price.
MARKET OVERVIEW Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show eight transactions recorded in Cummington during the period. Only three of the eight, or 38 percent, listed a disclosed consideration amount; the other five are recorded without a sale price, which is common for certain deed types such as foreclosure-related transfers, mortgage assignments and homestead filings. Among the three disclosed sales, prices ranged from $40,000 to $265,000, with a median of $140,000. Eight recorded transactions is a moderate volume for a town of Cummington's size, though the dataset does not include prior-month figures, so no comparison to earlier periods can be made.
TOP SALES 21 Dodwells Road sold for $265,000 on Aug. 12, the highest disclosed price of the period. Robert W. Jensen was the seller; the buyers of record are Allied Mortgage Group Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. 162 Nash Road sold for $140,000 on July 31. Elizabeth Anderson was the seller; the buyers of record are CMG Mortgage Inc. and CMG Home Loans. 77 Shaw Road sold for $40,000 on July 17. Maureen A. Lavigne was the seller; Florence Bank is the buyer of record. The remaining five transactions in the period, at 0 Porter Hill Road, 83 Porter Hill Road, 50 Stevens Road, 8 Luther Shaw Road and 33 Bryant Road, did not carry a disclosed price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two of the eight recorded transactions were on Porter Hill Road: 0 Porter Hill Road, transferred from Mark G. and Diane R. Bevan to the town of Cummington on Aug. 14, and 83 Porter Hill Road, recorded the same day from James Edward Bernhard as a declaration of homestead. No other street had more than one recorded transaction in this period. By price tier, among the three disclosed sales, one fell under $100,000 (77 Shaw Road at $40,000), one fell between $100,000 and $200,000 (162 Nash Road at $140,000), and one fell between $200,000 and $300,000 (21 Dodwells Road at $265,000).
MARKET NOTES Mortgage- and lending-related entities appear as either buyer or seller in five of the eight recorded transactions: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. is named in three transfers (21 Dodwells Road, 50 Stevens Road and 8 Luther Shaw Road), Florence Bank is named in two (33 Bryant Road and 77 Shaw Road), and Allied Mortgage Group Inc., Rocket Mortgage LLC and CMG Mortgage Inc./CMG Home Loans each appear once. The 83 Porter Hill Road entry is recorded as a declaration of homestead rather than a conventional buyer-seller transfer. The 0 Porter Hill Road transfer lists the town of Cummington as the recorded grantee. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data is available from the deed records for any of the eight transactions, and beds/baths/sqft figures cannot be reported for this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17 | 77 Shaw Rd | Lavigne Maureen A; Lavigne Maureen | Florence Bank | $40,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 23 | 33 Bryant Rd | Florence Bank | Young Stephen | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 8 Luther Shaw Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Nevins Brandon | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 162 Nash Rd | Anderson Elizabeth | Cmg Mortgage Inc; Cmg Home Loans | $140,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 50 Stevens Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 12 | 21 Dodwells Rd | Jensen Robert W | Allied Mortgage Group Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $265,000 |
| Aug 14 | 0 Porter Hill Rd | Bevan Mark G; Bevan Diane R | Cummington Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 83 Porter Hill Rd | Bernhard James Edward | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.