Sign in Subscribe

Cummington Records Ten Property Deeds but Only One Discloses a Sale Price

CUMMINGTON -- Ten property deeds were recorded in Cummington between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only one carried a disclosed sale price, limiting what the data shows about the local market for the period.

MARKET OVERVIEW Ten deeds were recorded in town over the four-week span. Only one, the Aug. 17 transfer of 47 Main St., listed a sale price: $30,000. Because nine of the 10 recorded transactions did not disclose a price, that single figure serves as both the low and high end of the period's disclosed price range and as the median. The overall price range and typical sale price for the broader set of transactions are undetermined. A raw count of 10 recorded deeds is not unusual activity for the registry, but with price data available for only one transaction, the figures do not support a conclusion about whether the period was active or quiet in dollar terms.

TOP SALES 47 Main St. sold for $30,000 on Aug. 17. The sellers were listed as Lyle M. Hazel and Lyle Hazel; the buyer was Florence Bank. This was the only recorded transaction in the period with a disclosed sale price.

The remaining notable transactions recorded in the period did not disclose a price: 0 Mount Rd. transferred Sept. 4 from John Mark Fiegenbaum and Eric Norton Fiegenbaum to the town of Cummington. 0 Porter Hill Rd. transferred Aug. 14 from Mark G. Bevan and Diane R. Bevan to the town of Cummington. 130 Porter Hill Rd. transferred Aug. 21 from Adams Community Bank to Judith M. Suriner. 36 Powell Rd. transferred Sept. 10 from the Pioneer Valley Planning Commission to Matthew F. Golembeski and Angela D. Golembeski.

These four are listed because they involve identifiable buyers, sellers or a municipal acquisition; they cannot be ranked by price since none disclosed one.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Porter Hill Road accounted for three of the 10 recorded deeds: 130 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 21, price not disclosed), 83 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14, price not disclosed) and 0 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14, price not disclosed, transferred to the town of Cummington). No other street had more than one recorded transaction in the period. Because only one of the 10 deeds disclosed a price, the transactions cannot be meaningfully grouped into price tiers.

MARKET NOTES Several of the period's recorded deeds reflect transaction types other than a typical owner-to-buyer sale. Two properties, 0 Mount Rd. and 0 Porter Hill Rd., were transferred to the town of Cummington. Two deeds recorded declarations of homestead, at 32 Lyman Flat Rd. (grantors Ryan Jeffrey Rida and Marjorie M. Rida) and 83 Porter Hill Rd. (grantor James Edward Bernhard), rather than a transfer of ownership to a new party. Four transactions involved a bank or mortgage entity as grantor or grantee: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. was the seller at 21 Dodwells Rd. and 162 Nash Rd., Adams Community Bank was the seller at 130 Porter Hill Rd., and Florence Bank was the buyer at 47 Main St. One deed, covering a Cummington property with no street address listed, recorded Daniel B. Johnson and Ellen H. Johnson as both seller and buyer, consistent with a same-family or trust transfer. Bed, bath and square-footage figures are not available in deed records and are omitted from this report.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 140 Porter Hill RdBevan Mark G; Bevan Diane RCummington TownNot disclosed
Aug 1483 Porter Hill RdBernhard James EdwardDeclaration Of HomesteadNot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1747 Main StHazel Lyle M; Hazel LyleFlorence Bank$30,000
Aug 17162 Nash RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; MersFiglozzi Jill; Smith Eric MNot disclosed
Aug 21130 Porter Hill RdAdams Community BankSuriner Judith MNot disclosed
Aug 31 - Sep 6
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 31(no address)Johnson Daniel B; Johnson Ellen HJohnson Daniel B; Johnson Ellen HNot disclosed
Sep 121 Dodwells RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; MersJensen Robert WNot disclosed
Sep 40 Mount RdFiegenbaum John Mark; Fiegenbaum Eric NortonCummington TownNot disclosed
Sep 7 - Sep 13
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Sep 1036 Powell RdPioneer Valley Planning CommissionGolembeski Matthew F; Golembeski Angela DNot disclosed
Sep 1132 Lyman Flat RdRida Ryan Jeffrey; Rida Marjorie MDeclaration Of HomesteadNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Hampshire County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe