Belchertown sale prices span $14,971 to $160,000 in latest deed filings
BELCHERTOWN -- The Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded 16 property transfers in Belchertown between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only five listed a sale price, and four of those five buyers were banks or credit unions.
MARKET OVERVIEW Of the 16 recorded transfers, five carried a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $14,971 to $160,000, with a median of $95,000. The remaining 11 transfers, nearly two-thirds of the period's total, listed no sale price, a pattern common with trust transfers, homestead declarations and other non-arms-length filings. A raw count of 16 recorded transactions is a moderate volume for a single town over a four-week span, but with disclosed pricing available for less than a third of them, the data offers a limited view of actual market values this period.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 47 Segur Lane, which sold for $160,000 on Aug. 18. The sellers were Jameson and Angela Gaspar; the buyer was Freedom Credit Union. At 52 Goodell Street, Isolde A. Quinney sold to Country Bank for Savings for $123,386 on Aug. 18. A unit at 111 Daniel Shays Highway, Summer Hill Estates Unit 36, sold for $95,000 on Aug. 14; Deborah A. Ross and Scott N. Klaum were the sellers, and PeoplesBank was the buyer. At 12 Newton Street, Joann Marie Lafountain sold to Pioneer Valley Federal Credit Union for $80,000 on Aug. 17. The lowest disclosed sale was 54 Woodhaven Drive, which transferred for $14,971 on Aug. 14 from Robert G. Kuhn and Pamela A. Zaranek Kuhn to Urban Development.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN The five disclosed-price sales were spread across five different streets, Segur Lane, Goodell Street, Daniel Shays Highway, Newton Street and Woodhaven Drive, with no street accounting for more than one priced sale. By price tier, all five disclosed sales fell under $500,000; the data contains no sale above that threshold this period. One address, 640 North Washington Street, appears twice in the undisclosed-price transfers: Ronald A. and Debbie L. Aickelin conveyed the property into a trust in their own names on Aug. 18, followed by a homestead declaration recorded the same day on the newly created trust.
MARKET NOTES Four of the five sales with a disclosed price named a bank or credit union as the buyer of record: Freedom Credit Union, Country Bank for Savings, PeoplesBank and Pioneer Valley Federal Credit Union. The fifth priced sale, 54 Woodhaven Drive, listed "Urban Development" as the buyer. Beyond the priced sales, the period's records included several transfers that were not conventional property sales: a declaration of homestead at 640 North Washington Street, a second homestead declaration at 461 North Washington Street tied to the Andrew Todd Rome Trust, an amendment to a declaration of restriction involving Belchertown Town and a property on Warren Wright Road, an order of conditions on Lake Drive tied to the town's Conservation office, and a certificate of penalty tax on George Hannum Street involving Belchertown Town Assessors and the estate of Wilson O. Hill Jr. No square footage, bedroom or bathroom data was available for any property in this data set, and no information indicates whether any transfer involved a condominium, single-family or multi-family property beyond the Summer Hill Estates unit designation at 111 Daniel Shays Highway.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 111 Daniel Shays Highway Summer Hill Estates Unit 36 | Ross Deborah A; Klaum Scott N | Peoplesbank | $95,000 |
| Aug 14 | 54 Woodhaven Dr | Kuhn Robert G; Kuhn Pamela A Zaranek | Urban Development | $14,971 |
| Aug 14 | 231 Franklin St | Citizens Bank Na | Deich Jonathon M; Sorber Annemarie L K | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 978 Federal St | Federal LLC | Massachusetts Electric Co | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 650 South Washington St | Guerin Joseph L; Guerin Jason | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 14 | 35 Lake Dr | Belchertown Town Conservation; Remodeling | Order Of Conditions | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 494 George Hannum St | Belchertown Town Assessors; Hill Wilson O Jr. Est | Certificate Of Penalty Tax | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 12 Newton St | Lafountain Joann Marie | Pioneer Valley Federal Credit Union | $80,000 |
| Aug 17 | 375 S Gulf Rd | Wells Fargo Bank Na | Moriarty Marvin E | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 406 Michael Sears Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Rocket Mortgage LLC | Micelotta Rocco M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 461 North Washington St | Andrew Todd Rome Trust; Rome Andrew Todd Tr. | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 18 | 47 Segur Ln | Gaspar Jameson; Gaspar Angela | Freedom Credit Union | $160,000 |
| Aug 18 | 52 Goodell St | Quinney Isolde A | Country Bank For Savings | $123,386 |
| Aug 18 | 640 N Washington St | Aickelin Ronald A Tr.; Aickelin Debbie L Tr. | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 18 | 640 N Wshington St | Aickelin Ronald A; Aickelin Debbie L | Aickelin Ronald A Tr.; Aickelin Debbie L Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 18 | 631 Warren Wright Rd | Macphail Frances Orourke; Belchertown Town | Amendment To Declaration Of Restriction | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.