$440,000 South Central Street Sale Leads Plainfield's August Deed Activity
PLAINFIELD -- Nine deeds were recorded in Plainfield during the four-week period ending Sept. 5, led by a $440,000 sale on South Central Street, the street that also accounted for three of the month's nine recorded transactions.
MARKET OVERVIEW Nine deeds were recorded in Plainfield between Aug. 7 and Sept. 5. Five of the nine disclosed a sale price, ranging from $20,000 to $440,000, with a median of $25,000. The other four transactions did not disclose a price, which is common in registry data and does not necessarily reflect the property's value. Nine recorded transactions in a four-week span is a modest count on its own, and the data available does not include a prior-period comparison to say whether that represents a change in pace.
TOP SALES 234 South Central St. sold for $440,000 on Aug. 28, the highest disclosed price of the period. The sellers were Matthew Ingellis and Payton Atwell; the buyer was April Joy Littlefield.
60 Campbell Rd. sold for $360,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Donna M. Kristensen and Tim D. Campbell; the buyer of record is Adams Community Bank.
91 Pleasant St. and 27 East St. each sold for $25,000, both recorded Aug. 26. At 91 Pleasant St., the sellers were Daniel J. Shearer and Tabitha M. Shearer, with Greenfield Savings Bank as buyer. At 27 East St., the sellers were Michelle Dupuis and Michelle Helms, with Citizens Bank NA as buyer.
257 South Central St. sold for $20,000 on Aug. 31, the lowest disclosed price of the period. The sellers were Erin Dill and Erin L. Dill; the buyer of record is Florence Bank.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN South Central Street accounted for three of the nine recorded deeds during the period: the $440,000 sale at No. 234, the $20,000 transaction at No. 257, and an undisclosed-price transfer at No. 288 involving a certificate of trust. No other street had more than one recorded transaction.
Among disclosed prices, two sales topped $350,000 (234 South Central St. and 60 Campbell Rd.), while three fell at or below $25,000 (91 Pleasant St., 27 East St. and 257 South Central St.). The remaining four records, at 44 Bow St., 278 East Main St., 288 South Central St. and 109 South St., did not disclose a price.
MARKET NOTES Four of the nine recorded transactions list a bank as the grantee: Florence Bank (257 South Central St.), Citizens Bank NA (27 East St.), Greenfield Savings Bank (91 Pleasant St.) and Adams Community Bank (60 Campbell Rd.). Deed records do not specify the nature of these transfers.
Three of the nine records are not property sales between owners but other instruments recorded at the registry: a declaration of homestead at 44 Bow St., a certificate of trust at 288 South Central St., and a notice of alternative sewage disposal system at 109 South St. One additional transaction, 278 East Main St., shows the town of Plainfield as seller and Matthew Stowell as buyer, with no price disclosed.
Deed records for this period do not include bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons are available.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 60 Campbell Rd | Kristensen Donna M; Campbell Tim D | Adams Community Bank | $360,000 |
| Aug 14 | 109 South St | Holder Elaine Q | Notice Of Alternative Sewage Disposal System | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 26 | 27 East St | Dupuis Michelle; Helms Michelle | Citizens Bank Na | $25,000 |
| Aug 26 | 91 Pleasant St | Shearer Daniel J; Shearer Tabitha M | Greenfield Savings Bank | $25,000 |
| Aug 27 | 278 East Main St | Plainfield Town | Stowell Matthew | Not disclosed |
| Aug 27 | 288 South Central St | Maurer Erik E; Maurer Erik E Tr. | Certificate Of Trust | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 234 South Central St | Ingellis Matthew; Atwell Payton | Littlefield April Joy | $440,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 31 | 257 South Central St | Dill Erin; Dill Erin L | Florence Bank | $20,000 |
| Sep 1 | 44 Bow St | Wooldridge Erin | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.