West Street Sale Tops $5 Million While Most Hatfield Prices Go Unlisted
HATFIELD -- Fourteen property deeds were recorded in Hatfield between July 24 and Aug. 22, but sale prices were disclosed in only three of them, ranging from $40,000 to $5,422,500.
MARKET OVERVIEW Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show 14 transactions in Hatfield during the four-week period. Of those, three list a sale price: $40,000, $175,000 and $5,422,500, producing a median of $175,000. The remaining 11 deeds are recorded without a disclosed price, which is common in registry data and does not indicate the properties changed hands for free. By raw count, 14 recorded deeds in a single month represents a substantial volume of paperwork moving through the registry for a town of Hatfield's size. But with price information available for only about one in five transactions, the data cannot support broader conclusions about where overall property values are heading.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 4 West Street, which sold for $5,422,500 on Aug. 3. The deed lists West Street Associates LLC as seller and Holdings LLC as buyer. The second-highest disclosed sale was 137 Elm St., which sold for $175,000 on July 27. Brian D. McGrath is listed as seller; the buyer is listed as Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. The third disclosed sale was 61 Plain Road, which sold for $40,000 on July 28. Fraser R. Stowe sold the property to Lisa A. Keller. No other transaction in the period listed a sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN West Street accounted for four of the period's 14 recorded deeds, more than any other street, and included the period's top sale. Besides the $5,422,500 transfer recorded as "4 West Street" on Aug. 3, an address recorded as "4 West St." appears in a separate Aug. 5 filing between West St Associates LLC and the town of Hatfield, price not disclosed. Two more properties on the street, 187 West St. and 22 West St., were also recorded in the period, both without disclosed prices. Plain Road had two recorded transfers: 61 Plain Road ($40,000, July 28) and 69 Plain Road (price not disclosed, Aug. 5). The remaining eight recorded deeds were spread across separate streets, each appearing once: 0 Straits Road, 15 Valley St., 92 Chestnut St., 83 School St., 62 Main St. Unit 1, 44 Linseed Road, 137 Elm St. and one filing listing no street address. Among the three disclosed prices, the spread is wide: one sale under $100,000, one in the $100,000-to-$500,000 range and one above $5 million, with no transactions disclosed in between.
MARKET NOTES Seven of the 14 recorded deeds, exactly half, list a bank as seller or co-seller: Greenfield Savings Bank appears twice, Florence Bank twice, PeoplesBank twice, and Berkshire Bank once alongside Krishna Properties Corp. None of those seven bank-seller transactions disclosed a sale price. The town of Hatfield is listed as buyer in three separate filings: 187 West St. (Aug. 12, seller West Street Partners LLC), 4 West St. (Aug. 5, seller West St Associates LLC) and a third filing with no listed street address (July 31, sellers Derek and Nicole Waslick). None of the three disclosed a price. Derek and Nicole Waslick appear on both sides of the ledger within the period: as sellers in the July 31 filing to the town of Hatfield, and as buyers of 0 Straits Road from Greenfield Savings Bank on Aug. 10. Two of the 14 recorded filings are not conventional property sales. The 22 West St. filing is listed as a modification agreement involving Krishna Properties Corp. and Berkshire Bank, and the 44 Linseed Road filing is a declaration of homestead recorded by Jennifer Siegel. Both are counted among the period's recorded instruments but do not represent a change in ownership through sale. 62 Main St. Unit 1 was the only condominium unit among the period's recorded transfers; deed records do not otherwise specify property type for the remaining addresses.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 137 Elm St | Mcgrath Brian D | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $175,000 |
| Jul 28 | 61 Plain Rd | Stowe Fraser R | Keller Lisa A | $40,000 |
| Jul 28 | 44 Linseed Rd | Siegel Jennifer | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Waslick Derek; Waslick Nicole | Hatfield Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 83 School St | Peoplesbank | Fleig Amy E; Reis Antonio M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 62 Main St Unit 1 | Peoplesbank | Kieras Marianne S | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 4 West Street | West Street Associates LLC; West Street Associates LLC | Holdings LLC | $5,422,500 |
| Aug 5 | 69 Plain Rd | Florence Bank | Steele David A; Steele Cherie J | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 92 Chestnut St | Florence Bank | Vollinger Donald E; Havlir Carol | Not disclosed |
| Aug 5 | 4 West St | West St Associates LLC | Hatfield Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 15 Valley St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Williams Katherine; Williams Brian | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 0 Straits Rd | Greenfield Savings Bank | Waslick Nicole; Waslick Derek | Not disclosed |
| Aug 10 | 22 West St | Krishna Properties Corp; Berkshire Bank | Modification Agreement | Not disclosed |
| Aug 12 | 187 West St | West Street Partners LLC | Hatfield Town | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.