Two Disclosed Sales Bookend Wide Price Gap in Cummington
CUMMINGTON -- Eight properties changed hands in Cummington between July 31 and Aug. 29, but only two of those deeds disclosed a sale price, limiting how much the month's numbers reveal about the local market.
MARKET OVERVIEW Eight sales were recorded at the Hampshire County Registry of Deeds during the period. Of those, two carried a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $30,000 to $265,000, with a median of $147,500. The remaining six transactions listed no sale price, which is common for certain deed types but means price-based conclusions here rest on a small sample. By raw count, eight recorded deeds represent a modest but active month for a small town, though the scarcity of disclosed pricing makes it difficult to characterize overall market direction.
TOP SALES 21 Dodwells Rd sold for $265,000 on Aug. 12. The seller was Robert W. Jensen; the buyers were Allied Mortgage Group Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. 47 Main St sold for $30,000 on Aug. 17. The sellers were Lyle M. Hazel and Lyle Hazel; the buyer was Florence Bank. No other sales in the period disclosed a price. Six additional deeds were recorded at 36 Powell Rd, 130 Porter Hill Rd, 162 Nash Rd, 0 Porter Hill Rd, 83 Porter Hill Rd, and 50 Stevens Rd, all listed as price not disclosed.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Porter Hill Road saw the most activity of any street, with three separate deeds recorded there: 130 Porter Hill Rd (Aug. 21), 0 Porter Hill Rd (Aug. 14) and 83 Porter Hill Rd (Aug. 14). None of the three disclosed a sale price. The remaining five sales were spread across five different streets: Powell Road, Main Street, Nash Road, Dodwells Road and Stevens Road, one transaction each. Of the two disclosed prices, one falls under $100,000 (47 Main St, $30,000) and one falls in the $100,000-to-$500,000 range (21 Dodwells Rd, $265,000).
MARKET NOTES A bank, credit union or mortgage company appears as grantor or grantee on six of the eight recorded deeds: Greylock Federal Credit Union (36 Powell Rd), Adams Community Bank (130 Porter Hill Rd), Florence Bank (47 Main St), Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (162 Nash Rd and 50 Stevens Rd), Allied Mortgage Group Inc. and MERS (21 Dodwells Rd), and Rocket Mortgage LLC (50 Stevens Rd). One deed, at 0 Porter Hill Rd, transferred from Mark G. and Diane R. Bevan to the Town of Cummington. Another, at 83 Porter Hill Rd, recorded a Declaration of Homestead rather than a conventional buyer, indicating that instrument was filed alongside the transfer from James Edward Bernhard. Deed records do not include property type, square footage or bedroom and bathroom counts, so no comparison of housing stock characteristics is possible from this data.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 6 | 50 Stevens Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Rocket Mortgage LLC | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 12 | 21 Dodwells Rd | Jensen Robert W | Allied Mortgage Group Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $265,000 |
| Aug 14 | 0 Porter Hill Rd | Bevan Mark G; Bevan Diane R | Cummington Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 83 Porter Hill Rd | Bernhard James Edward | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | 47 Main St | Hazel Lyle M; Hazel Lyle | Florence Bank | $30,000 |
| Aug 17 | 162 Nash Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Figlozzi Jill; Smith Eric M | Not disclosed |
| Aug 21 | 130 Porter Hill Rd | Adams Community Bank | Suriner Judith M | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 28 | 36 Powell Rd | Greylock Federal Credit Union | Williams Angela D; Golembeski Angela D | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.