South Hadley Sale Price Data Sparse as Only One of 10 Deeds Discloses Value
SOUTH HADLEY -- Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded 10 property transfers in South Hadley between July 31 and Aug. 3, but only one carried a disclosed sale price, and three of the 10 filings were homestead declarations rather than sales to new owners.
MARKET OVERVIEW Ten property transfers were recorded in South Hadley during the period, but a sale price was disclosed for only one of them, a $546,400 transaction recorded Aug. 3. Because just one of the 10 records includes a price, the recorded range and median are both $546,400, reflecting that single sale. The nine remaining records list no consideration amount, which the registry permits and does not by itself indicate anything about pricing. The raw count of 10 recorded transfers suggests activity in the county's deed-filing system, but with price disclosed in only one of the 10 records, the data does not support a conclusion about whether the sales market itself was active or quiet this period.
TOP SALES The only transaction with a disclosed price was recorded Aug. 3 for $546,400. The deed lists sellers Drew Nalewanski and Elizabeth Martins Nawelanski, whose shared surname is spelled two different ways in the record, and buyers NewRez LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. The deed record does not include a street address for this property. Bed, bath and square footage figures are not available from deed records. No other transaction in this period carried a disclosed price, so no additional entries can be ranked among top sales by dollar value.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Two records reference the number 106 on a street recorded once as Brainard Street and once as Brainerd Street, both filed July 31: one moved from sellers Terrence C. and Diane M. Colligan to the town of South Hadley, and the other from sellers Michael G. and Sharon M. Croteau to a homestead declaration. No other street name repeats in this period's records. The remaining seven transfers are spread across seven different streets, Burnett Avenue, Susan Avenue, Upper River Road, Granby Road, Old County Road, Ludlow Road and Saybrook Circle, each represented by a single filing. Because only one of the 10 transfers discloses a price, the data does not support grouping by price tier.
MARKET NOTES Three of the 10 recorded transfers, at 1 Burnett Ave., 106 Brainerd St. and 62 Ludlow Rd., list "Declaration of Homestead" as the grantee rather than a new owner's name. A homestead declaration is a legal filing by an existing property owner and is not a transfer of ownership to a third party. A financial institution appears as either grantor or grantee in six of the 10 records: Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. appears twice, once as a buyer and once as a seller in separate transactions; Member Advantage Mortgage LLC and Freedom Credit Union each appear once as sellers; and PeoplesBank appears as seller in two separate transactions, at 112 Granby Rd. to Andrew G. Roberts and at 33 Old County Rd. to Gail M. Steiger and Joseph W. Keenan, both recorded July 31. One record, 106 Brainard St., lists the town of South Hadley as grantee. No bed, bath or square footage data is available from deed records for any transaction, and no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made. Because price was disclosed for only one of the 10 transfers, no conclusion can be drawn about whether single-family, condominium or multi-family properties dominated sale prices this period; property type is not indicated in the deed data provided.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 1 Burnett Ave | Conley Lucy M; Conley Christopher H | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 106 Brainard St | Colligan Terrence C; Colligan Diane M | South Hadley Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 106 Brainerd St | Croteau Michael G; Croteau Sharon M | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 40 Susan Ave | Member Advantage Mortgage LLC | Proulx Kevin D; Proulx Sherralee J | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 34 Upper River Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Dion Eva Mary | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 112 Granby Rd | Peoplesbank | Roberts Andrew G | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 33 Old County Rd | Peoplesbank | Steiger Gail M; Keenan Joseph W | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 62 Ludlow Rd | Rzeszutek Joseph M; Rzeszutek Ann Marie | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 27 Saybrook Cir | Freedom Credit Union | Benoit Randall | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | (no address) | Nalewanski Drew; Nawelanski Elizabeth Martins | Newrez LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $546,400 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.