Plainfield home sale prices range widely as most July-August deeds disclose no price
PLAINFIELD -- Seven property deeds were recorded in Plainfield between July 24 and Aug. 22, but a sale price was disclosed in only two of them, ranging from $108,325 to $360,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW The Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded seven Plainfield property transfers during the period. Of those, two listed a disclosed sale price: $108,325 and $360,000, producing a price range of $108,325 to $360,000 and a median of $234,162. The remaining five records did not disclose a price, which is common for deed filings and does not necessarily indicate anything about the transaction itself. Because price data is available for less than a third of the period's recorded deeds, the raw count of seven filings does not by itself indicate whether the month was more or less active than usual for the town.
TOP SALES 60 Campbell Road sold for $360,000 on Aug. 10. The sellers were Donna M. Kristensen and Tim D. Campbell; the buyer was Adams Community Bank. Bed, bath and square-footage data were not available. 59 North Street sold for $108,325 on July 27. The seller was Valerie J. Podolak; the buyers were the Massachusetts Community Development Block Grant Program and the town of Chesterfield. No other property in the dataset had a disclosed sale price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN 278 East Main Street appears twice in the period's records: a transfer from Caitlin Cole to the town of Plainfield recorded Aug. 3, and a filing recorded July 31 involving sellers Joshua Nordin and Kiva Singh listed as a declaration of homestead. Price was not disclosed for either record. The remaining five recorded transactions were each on separate streets: 109 South Street (Aug. 14), 37 West Hill Road (Aug. 4), 58 River Road (July 28), 59 North Street (July 27, $108,325) and 60 Campbell Road (Aug. 10, $360,000). With only two disclosed prices in the dataset, a breakdown by price tier is not meaningful for this period.
MARKET NOTES The seven recorded deeds include a mix of record types beyond straightforward sales. The 37 West Hill Road transfer moved from Linda M. Cooley, as trustee of the Douglas W. Cooley Trust, to Eric D. Cooley and Amanda B. Cooley, a within-family trust transfer. The 58 River Road deed listed Bank of America N.A. as a seller. The July 31 filing at 278 East Main Street was recorded as a declaration of homestead rather than a price-bearing sale, and the Aug. 14 filing at 109 South Street was recorded as a notice of alternative sewage disposal system rather than a standard property transfer. Two records involved municipal or state parties as buyers: the town of Plainfield on the Aug. 3 East Main Street filing, and the town of Chesterfield alongside the Massachusetts Community Development Block Grant Program on the North Street sale. No bed, bath or square-footage data was available for any property in this period's deed records.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 59 North St | Podolak Valerie J | Massachusetts Community Development Block Grant Program; Chesterfield Town | $108,325 |
| Jul 28 | 58 River Rd | Bank Of America Na; Fact | Silberberg Sally A | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 278 E Main St | Nordin Joshua; Singh Kiva | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 278 East Main St | Cole Caitlin | Plainfield Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 4 | 37 West Hill Rd | Cooley Linda M Tr.; Douglas W Cooley Trust | Cooley Eric D; Cooley Amanda B | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 60 Campbell Rd | Kristensen Donna M; Campbell Tim D | Adams Community Bank | $360,000 |
| Aug 14 | 109 South St | Holder Elaine Q | Notice Of Alternative Sewage Disposal System | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.