Plainfield August Sales Range From $25,000 To $440,000 With Median At $192,500
PLAINFIELD -- Nine property transfers were recorded in Plainfield during the four weeks ending Aug. 29, according to Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $25,000 to $440,000.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The registry recorded nine transactions in the period, but only four listed a sale price; the remaining five were recorded without consideration amounts disclosed. Among the four disclosed sales, prices ranged from $25,000 to $440,000, with a median of $192,500. Nine recorded transfers in a four-week span is a notable volume for a town the size of Plainfield, though the dataset provides no prior-month figures for comparison, so this month's activity cannot be characterized as busier or slower than usual.
TOP SALES
234 South Central St. sold for $440,000 on Aug. 28, the period's highest disclosed price. The property transferred from Matthew Ingellis and Payton Atwell to April Joy Littlefield.
60 Campbell Rd. sold for $360,000 on Aug. 10. Donna M. Kristensen and Tim D. Campbell sold the property to Adams Community Bank.
27 East St. and 91 Pleasant St. each sold for $25,000 on Aug. 26. Michelle Dupuis and Michelle Helms sold 27 East St. to Citizens Bank N.A. Daniel J. Shearer and Tabitha M. Shearer sold 91 Pleasant St. to Greenfield Savings Bank.
The remaining five transfers in the period had no sale price disclosed in the deed record.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
South Central Street recorded two transfers during the period: the $440,000 sale at No. 234 on Aug. 28, and a price-not-disclosed transfer at No. 288 on Aug. 27, in which Erik E. Maurer and the Erik E. Maurer Trust conveyed the property via a certificate of trust.
East Main Street also had two entries: a price-not-disclosed transfer at 278 East Main St. on Aug. 27, from the Town of Plainfield to Matthew Stowell, and a separate price-not-disclosed recording at the same address on July 31, involving sellers Joshua Nordin and Kiva Singh and a declaration of homestead.
By price tier among the four disclosed sales: two transactions fell in the $300,000-$450,000 range (234 South Central St. and 60 Campbell Rd.), and two fell at $25,000 (27 East St. and 91 Pleasant St.). Price was not disclosed for the remaining five properties, spread across South Central, South, and West Hill streets and East Main Street.
MARKET NOTES
Of the nine recorded entries, five did not include a sale price, consistent with the pattern common to trust transfers, bank-related recordings, and other non-market filings that appear in deed data. Two of the four disclosed sales, at 27 East St. and 91 Pleasant St., listed banks (Citizens Bank N.A. and Greenfield Savings Bank, respectively) as the grantee, both at $25,000.
Several entries in the period reflect recorded documents rather than conventional third-party sales: a certificate of trust at 288 South Central St., a notice of alternative sewage disposal system at 109 South St., and a declaration of homestead at 278 E Main St. A transfer at 37 West Hill Rd. moved the property from the Douglas W. Cooley Trust and trustee Linda M. Cooley to Eric D. Cooley and Amanda B. Cooley, a within-family conveyance; the deed record does not indicate the reason for the transfer.
Beds, baths, and square footage are not available from deed records for any of the nine properties.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 278 E Main St | Nordin Joshua; Singh Kiva | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4 | 37 West Hill Rd | Cooley Linda M Tr.; Douglas W Cooley Trust | Cooley Eric D; Cooley Amanda B | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 10 | 60 Campbell Rd | Kristensen Donna M; Campbell Tim D | Adams Community Bank | $360,000 |
| Aug 14 | 109 South St | Holder Elaine Q | Notice Of Alternative Sewage Disposal System | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 26 | 27 East St | Dupuis Michelle; Helms Michelle | Citizens Bank Na | $25,000 |
| Aug 26 | 91 Pleasant St | Shearer Daniel J; Shearer Tabitha M | Greenfield Savings Bank | $25,000 |
| Aug 27 | 278 East Main St | Plainfield Town | Stowell Matthew | Not disclosed |
| Aug 27 | 288 South Central St | Maurer Erik E; Maurer Erik E Tr. | Certificate Of Trust | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 234 South Central St | Ingellis Matthew; Atwell Payton | Littlefield April Joy | $440,000 |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.