Only Two Of 13 Goshen Deeds Disclose Sale Prices In August
GOSHEN -- Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show 13 property transfers in Goshen for the period July 31 through Aug. 29, but a sale price was disclosed in only two of them, limiting how much the data can say about the broader market.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 13 transactions in the period. Of those, 11 listed "price not disclosed," a common feature of deed records that does not necessarily indicate anything unusual. Among the two transactions with a disclosed price, the range ran from $20,000 to $320,000, with a median of $170,000. Because that figure is based on just two data points, it should not be read as representative of typical home values in Goshen during this period. Taken as a whole, the raw count of 13 recorded deeds is a moderate volume for a small town, but the underlying detail shows the total includes trust transfers, bank-related conveyances, a municipal acquisition and two records that are not property sales at all, which tempers any reading of the count as a straightforward measure of market activity.
TOP SALES 32 Pond Hill Rd. sold for $320,000 on Aug. 26. The sellers were Kathleen C. Fletcher and William C. Fletcher III; the buyer was Polish National Credit Union. Beds, baths and square footage were not available in the deed record.
An unaddressed Goshen parcel sold for $20,000 on July 31. The seller was Chad M. Moran; the buyers were Lynn M. Moran and Michael J. Moran Jr., both listed as trustees, indicating a transfer within the same family rather than an open-market sale.
No other transactions in the period disclosed a sale price, so a fuller ranking of top sales beyond these two is not possible from the available data.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Lake Drive saw the most activity of any street, with three separate recorded transactions: 164 Lake Dr. (Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. to Georgia A. McCarthy), 29 Lake Dr. (a transfer from Dorothy A. Clayton and Donald A. Nichols to themselves as trustees) and 0 Lake Dr., a parcel conveyed from Ronald P. Moson to the town of Goshen. Aberdeen Road also had two entries: 56 Aberdeen Rd., a family trust transfer from Stephen C. and Patricia F. Erikson to Kelly R. O'Connor and Michael J. Erikson as trustees, and 115 Aberdeen Rd., which reflects a Conservation Commission Order of Conditions rather than a property sale. The remaining addresses, Bissell Road, Cherry Road, Washington Road, West Street, Dresser Hill Road and Berkshire Trail East, each had a single recorded entry with no shared street pattern. With price disclosed for only two properties, a breakdown by price tier is not meaningful for this period.
MARKET NOTES A notable share of this period's recorded deeds involved a bank, credit union or mortgage-servicing entity as either buyer or seller: 164 Lake Dr., 32 Pond Hill Rd., 30 Bissell Rd., 16 Washington Rd., 58 Dresser Hill Rd. and 8 Berkshire Trail E. all named Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc., Florence Bank, Cross River Bank or Polish National Credit Union as a party, six of the 13 total entries. Three entries, 29 Lake Dr., 56 Aberdeen Rd. and the Moran parcel, were transfers from individuals to trustees sharing the same family surname, consistent with estate or trust planning rather than a sale to a new owner. Two records in the period were not property sales: 0 West St. reflects a decision on an administrative appeal before the Goshen Zoning Board of Appeals, and 115 Aberdeen Rd. reflects a Conservation Commission Order of Conditions. One entry, 3 Cherry Rd., listed only a seller, Melissa N. and Nicholas P. Callahan, with no buyer named in the available record. No square footage, bedroom or bathroom data was available for any property, so no price-per-square-foot comparison could be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | (no address) | Moran Chad M | Moran Lynn M Tr.; Moran Michael J Jr. Tr. | $20,000 |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 4 | 8 Berkshire Trail E | Pratt Deborah A | Cross River Bank | Not disclosed |
| Aug 6 | 58 Dresser Hill Rd | Florence Bank | Murphy Ronald A; Murphy Patricia A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 7 | 115 Aberdeen Rd | Goshen Town Conservation; Jenkins Tom | Order Of Conditions | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 12 | 16 Washington Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Wagman Alisa; Cote Kevin | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 25 | 30 Bissell Rd | Florence Bank | Loven Kelly A; Burrington Kelly A | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 56 Aberdeen Rd | Erikson Stephen C; Erikson Patricia F | Oconnor Kelly R Tr.; Erikson Michael J Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 0 West St | Baker Randall G Jr.; Goshen Town Zoning Appeals | Decision Regarding Administrative Appeal | Not disclosed |
| Aug 25 | 3 Cherry Rd | Callahan Melissa N; Callahan Nicholas P | Not disclosed | |
| Aug 26 | 32 Pond Hill Rd | Fletcher Kathleen C; Fletcher William C III | Polish National Credit Union | $320,000 |
| Aug 26 | 0 Lake Dr | Moson Ronald P | Goshen Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 27 | 29 Lake Dr | Clayton Dorothy A; Nichols Donald A | Clayton Dorothy A Tr.; Nichols Donald A Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Aug 28 | 164 Lake Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | Mccarthy Georgia A | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.