Sign in Subscribe

Cummington Sale Prices Span $30,000 to $265,000 With Six Undisclosed

CUMMINGTON -- Nine property transfers were recorded in Cummington between July 24 and Aug. 22, but sale prices were disclosed for only three of them, ranging from $30,000 to $265,000. Porter Hill Road accounted for three of the nine recordings, more than any other street in town during the period.

MARKET OVERVIEW Nine deeds were recorded in Cummington over the four-week period. Of those, three carried a disclosed sale price, ranging from $30,000 to $265,000, with a median of $226,575. The remaining six recordings did not include a sale price, which is common for certain categories of deed filings. A raw count of nine recordings over four weeks is a modest but steady pace for a town of Cummington's size; because two-thirds of the transfers lack pricing data, the figures above describe only the three disclosed sales and should not be read as representing the full set of nine transfers.

TOP SALES 21 Dodwells Rd. sold for $265,000 on Aug. 12, the highest disclosed price of the period. The seller was Robert W. Jensen; the buyers were Allied Mortgage Group Inc. and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.

36 Powell Rd. sold for $226,575 on Aug. 19. The sellers were Angela D. Williams and Angela D. Golembeski; the buyer was UMassFive College Federal Credit Union.

47 Main St. sold for $30,000 on Aug. 17, the lowest disclosed price of the period. The sellers were Lyle M. Hazel and Lyle Hazel; the buyer was Florence Bank.

No bed, bath or square-footage data was available for any of the three disclosed sales, consistent with the limits of deed-record data.

NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN Porter Hill Road was the only street with more than one recording in the period, with three: 130 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 21), 0 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14) and 83 Porter Hill Rd. (Aug. 14). None of the three disclosed a sale price. The remaining six recordings were spread across six different streets, one each: Powell Road, Main Street, Nash Road, Dodwells Road, Stevens Road and Luther Shaw Road.

By price tier among the three disclosed sales: one transfer was under $50,000 (47 Main St., $30,000), and two fell between $200,000 and $300,000 (36 Powell Rd., $226,575, and 21 Dodwells Rd., $265,000). No disclosed sale exceeded $300,000 during the period.

MARKET NOTES Financial institutions appeared as either grantor or grantee in most of the period's recordings. Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. was listed as seller in three transfers (162 Nash Rd., 50 Stevens Rd. and 8 Luther Shaw Rd.) and as a co-buyer in one (21 Dodwells Rd.). Banks and credit unions were named as buyer or seller in four additional recordings: Adams Community Bank (seller, 130 Porter Hill Rd.), Florence Bank (buyer, 47 Main St.), UMassFive College Federal Credit Union (buyer, 36 Powell Rd.) and Rocket Mortgage LLC (buyer, 50 Stevens Rd.).

Two recordings involved parties other than individual buyers or sellers: the town of Cummington was listed as buyer of 0 Porter Hill Rd., and the recording for 83 Porter Hill Rd. listed the buyer as "Declaration of Homestead," a type of legal filing rather than a purchasing party.

Because six of the nine recordings lack disclosed prices and no square-footage data is available for any property, price-per-square-foot comparisons and single-family-versus-condominium breakdowns cannot be made from this data set.


Recorded Deeds

Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.

Jul 20 - Jul 26
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Jul 248 Luther Shaw RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; MersNevins BrandonNot disclosed
Aug 3 - Aug 9
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 650 Stevens RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; MersRocket Mortgage LLCNot disclosed
Aug 10 - Aug 16
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1221 Dodwells RdJensen Robert WAllied Mortgage Group Inc; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc$265,000
Aug 140 Porter Hill RdBevan Mark G; Bevan Diane RCummington TownNot disclosed
Aug 1483 Porter Hill RdBernhard James EdwardDeclaration Of HomesteadNot disclosed
Aug 17 - Aug 23
DateAddressGrantorGranteeSale Amount
Aug 1747 Main StHazel Lyle M; Hazel LyleFlorence Bank$30,000
Aug 17162 Nash RdMortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; MersFiglozzi Jill; Smith Eric MNot disclosed
Aug 1936 Powell RdWilliams Angela D; Golembeski Angela DUmassfive College Federal Credit Union$226,575
Aug 21130 Porter Hill RdAdams Community BankSuriner Judith MNot disclosed

Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.

Subscribe to Hampshire County News

Don’t miss out on the latest issues. Sign up now to get access to the library of members-only issues.
jamie@example.com
Subscribe