Church Street sale hits $135,000 as most Ware deed prices go unlisted
WARE -- The Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded eight property transfers in Ware between July 24 and Aug. 22, but only three carried a disclosed sale price, limiting what the data shows about the local market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Eight sales were recorded in Ware during the period. Of those, three included a disclosed consideration amount, ranging from $37,500 to $135,000, with a median of $43,000 among the disclosed sales. The remaining five deeds, more than half the total, did not include a sale price. With five of eight prices undisclosed, the recorded data offers only a partial picture of market values for the period; the raw count of eight transactions does not by itself indicate whether the period was more or less active than usual, since no comparison data was provided.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 51 Church St., which sold for $135,000 on July 27. The sellers were Donald A. Choquette and Cheryl D. Choquette; the buyer was Real Estate USA LLC.
96 Coffey Hill Rd. sold for $43,000 on July 27. The sellers were Joshua A. Kusnierz and Carrie A. Kusnierz; the buyer was Holyoke Credit Union.
A Ware property sold for $37,500 on July 24. The seller was Mark E. Hausser; the buyer was East Quabbin Land Trust Inc. No street address was included in the deed record for this transfer.
No other sales in the dataset included a disclosed price.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Old Poor Farm Road accounted for two of the eight transfers: 3 Old Poor Farm Rd. and 65 Old Poor Farm Rd., both recorded July 24. Neither deed included a sale price. No other street appeared more than once in the dataset. The remaining transfers were spread across Church Street, Coffey Hill Road, Babcock Tavern Road, Pine Crest Circle, Hardwick Pond Road, and one unspecified Ware address.
By price tier, among the three disclosed sales, two fell under $50,000 (96 Coffey Hill Rd. at $43,000 and the unspecified Ware address at $37,500) and one fell between $50,000 and $150,000 (51 Church St. at $135,000). The five sales without disclosed prices cannot be sorted into a price tier.
MARKET NOTES
Three of the eight deeds list "Declaration of Homestead" as the grantee: 3 Old Poor Farm Rd., 5 Pine Crest Cir., and 65 Old Poor Farm Rd., all recorded July 24. None of these three included a sale price in the registry data.
Mark E. Hausser appears as seller on two separate deeds: the unspecified Ware address sold to East Quabbin Land Trust Inc. for $37,500, and 73 Hardwick Pond Rd., transferred to the Town of Ware with no price disclosed.
135 Babcock Tavern Rd. was transferred from Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. (MERS) to Paula M. Corriveau and Steven F. Corriveau, with no price disclosed. The registry data does not include bedroom, bathroom, or square-footage figures for any property in this period, so no price-per-square-foot or property-type comparisons can be made.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 24 | (no address) | Hausser Mark E | East Quabbin Land Trust Inc | $37,500 |
| Jul 24 | 3 Old Poor Farm Rd | Rohan Derek J | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 5 Pine Crest Cir | Guzik Christopher; Guzik Ashley | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 73 Hardwick Pond Rd | Hausser Mark E | Ware Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 24 | 65 Old Poor Farm Rd | Grenier Sarah | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 27 | 51 Church St | Choquette Donald A; Choquette Cheryl D | Real Estate Usa LLC | $135,000 |
| Jul 27 | 96 Coffey Hill Rd | Kusnierz Joshua A; Kusnierz Carrie A | Holyoke Credit Union | $43,000 |
| Jul 27 | 135 Babcock Tavern Rd | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Corriveau Paula M; Corriveau Steven F | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.