Easthampton Condo Sale Hits $674,900 While Median Price Lands at $197,500
EASTHAMPTON -- Sixteen property deeds were recorded in Easthampton between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only six disclosed a sale price, ranging from $10,000 to $674,900. The month's costliest transaction was a condominium unit at Steplar Crossing Estates.
MARKET OVERVIEW
The Hampshire County Registry of Deeds recorded 16 transfers involving Easthampton property during the period. Of those, six listed a consideration amount, with prices ranging from $10,000 to $674,900 and a median of $197,500. The remaining 10 entries did not disclose a sale price, which is common in deed records and does not necessarily indicate the property changed hands for no consideration. Based on raw count alone, 16 recorded deeds represent a moderate volume of registry activity for the period, though with only six disclosed prices, a full read on pricing trends is limited.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced sale was 16 Steplar Crossing, Unit 16, at Steplar Crossing Estates, which sold for $674,900 on July 14. The seller was Allison Elizabeth Dunn; the buyer was Susan Smith Crall, trustee of the Susan Smith Crall Trust.
The second-highest sale was 359 Main St., Unit 18A, at Hampton East, which sold for $550,000 on July 14. Ann Sitkin was the seller; Linda MacDonald was the buyer.
At 27 Holyoke St., the property sold for $255,000 on July 14. William H. B. Speiser was the seller; the buyer was Florence Bank.
At 31 Paul St., the property sold for $140,000 on July 13. Amy Christenson was the seller; the buyer was Rocket Mortgage LLC, with Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. named on the deed.
At 24 Sandra Rd., the property sold for $11,185 on July 14. Darren K. Moore and Tina M. Moore were the sellers; the buyer was Urban Development.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Park Street saw the most recording activity of any single street, with three separate transfers: 243 Park St., 227 Park St. and 192 Park St., all recorded July 13 or July 14. None of the three disclosed a sale price. The 227 Park St. transfer was between Barbara C. Keenan as trustee of the Barbara C. Keenan Family Trust and Barbara Cernak Keenan as trustee of a differently named Keenan trust, a within-family trust transfer.
Main Street and Steplar Crossing each generated two entries. The $550,000 sale of 359 Main St., Unit 18A, was followed by a second, price-undisclosed filing at the same address in which buyer Linda MacDonald recorded a declaration of homestead. Similarly, the $674,900 sale at 16 Steplar Crossing was followed by a price-undisclosed filing in which buyer Susan Smith Crall, as trustee, recorded a declaration of homestead on the same unit.
By price tier among the six disclosed sales: one sale exceeded $500,000 (Steplar Crossing at $674,900, and Main Street at $550,000), one fell in the $200,000-to-$500,000 range (Holyoke Street at $255,000), and three fell under $200,000 (Paul Street at $140,000, Sandra Road at $11,185, and Lawler Drive at $10,000).
MARKET NOTES
Property types among disclosed sales included two condominium units, at Steplar Crossing Estates and Hampton East, and one single-family property on Holyoke Street. Bed, bath and square-footage figures were not available in the deed data.
Several entries in the period involved banks or mortgage-related entities rather than individual buyers and sellers. Florence Bank was the buyer at 27 Holyoke St.; Rocket Mortgage LLC and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. were named at 31 Paul St.; Polish National Credit Union was the buyer at 20 Lawler Dr.; Greenfield Savings Bank was the seller at 17 Olympia St.; and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. was the seller at 14 Melinda Lane. The deed data does not indicate the nature of these transfers beyond the parties recorded.
Five of the 16 recorded entries listed the buyer as "Declaration of Homestead" rather than a named individual or entity, at 359 Main St. Unit 18A, 16 Steplar Crossing, 192 Park St., and 20 Knipfer Ave. These are homestead filings rather than property sales and were not counted among the six disclosed-price transactions.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 14 Melinda Ln | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Zimmermann Diana | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 20 Knipfer Ave | Allison John | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 31 Paul St | Christenson Amy | Rocket Mortgage LLC; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $140,000 |
| Jul 13 | 20 Lawler Dr | Fisher Lawrence W; Fisher Lori | Polish National Credit Union | $10,000 |
| Jul 13 | 192 Park St | Cavanaugh John Tr.; Cavanaugh John | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | 17 Olympia St | Greenfield Savings Bank | Buell Mardi F; Buell Melissa L | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 16 Steplar Crossing Estates At Steplar Crossing Unit 16 | Dunn Allison Elizabeth | Crall Susan Smith Tr.; Susan Smith Crall Trust | $674,900 |
| Jul 14 | 359 Main St Hampton East Unit 18A | Sitkin Ann | Macdonald Linda | $550,000 |
| Jul 14 | 27 Holyoke St | Speiser William H B | Florence Bank | $255,000 |
| Jul 14 | 24 Sandra Rd | Moore Darren K; Moore Tina M | Urban Development | $11,185 |
| Jul 14 | 243 Park St | Traders Trust Co; T Bank | Cil Realty Of Massachusetts Inc | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 83 Northampton St | Wozniak Susan | Intrepid Hpf Finance Trust | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 359 Main St Unit 18A | Macdonald Linda | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | (no address) | Keenan Barbara Cernak Tr.; Keenan Barbara C Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 14 | 227 Park St | Keenan Barbara C Tr.; Barbara C Keenan Family Trust | Keenan Barbara Cernak Tr.; Keenan Barbara C Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 16 Steplar Crossing | Crall Susan Smith Tr.; Susan Smith Crall Trust | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.