Belchertown July Sales Show $30,000 to $4.8 Million Price Spread
BELCHERTOWN -- Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show 18 property transfers in Belchertown between July 10 and Aug. 8, but only five listed a sale price, ranging from $30,000 to $4,829,470.
MARKET OVERVIEW The registry recorded 18 deed transfers in the four-week period. Of those, five disclosed a consideration amount, ranging from $30,000 to $4,829,470, with a median of $178,369 among the disclosed prices. The remaining 13 transactions, nearly three-quarters of the total, listed no sale price, which is common for bank transfers, trust transfers, and other non-arms-length deeds. Because prior-period figures aren't included in this dataset, the raw count of 18 transactions does not by itself indicate whether this represents an active or quiet stretch for the town; it reflects only the volume of deeds recorded in this specific window.
TOP SALES The highest-value transaction was 281 Chauncey Walker St., which sold for $4,829,470 on July 14. The seller was listed as Pine Valley Plantation Cooperative Corp. and the buyer as Massachusetts Clean Water Trust; no bed, bath, or square footage data is available from the deed record.
The next four disclosed-price sales were all considerably smaller and involved a bank as the buyer. At 30 Canal Dr., the property sold for $200,000 on July 13, with sellers Bryan W. Eldridge and Meghan C. Eldridge and buyer Citizens Bank NA. At 88 Gold St., the property sold for $178,369 on July 10, with seller Michael A. Mosher and buyer Country Bank For Savings. At 99 Oakridge Dr., the sale price was $110,000 on July 13, with seller Jason J. Hiersche and buyer BankESB. At 118 Jensen St., the sale price was $30,000 on July 14, with sellers Lynn A. Forgette and Dana Burton and buyer North Brookfield Savings Bank.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN By price tier among the five disclosed sales: one transaction exceeded $1 million (281 Chauncey Walker St. at $4,829,470), and four fell under $500,000, ranging from $30,000 to $200,000.
North Main Street saw a cluster of related activity: 55 N. Main St., 55 North Main St., and 55 North Main St. Cold Spring Common Unit 3 all recorded transfers on July 10, each involving Lynn M. Bock and the Bock Family Trust as either grantor or grantee, with no price disclosed on any of the three. Two additional transfers on July 13, at 550 North Liberty St. and an address not specified in the record, both moved from Daniel F. Rudy alone to Daniel F. Rudy and Laura Blaze jointly, also without a disclosed price. A transfer at 4 Westwood Dr. on July 10 moved the property from Chad S. Saunders and Heather D. Saunders to Chad S. Saunders TR and Heather D. Saunders TR, consistent with a transfer into a trust.
MARKET NOTES No bed, bath, or square footage figures were available in the deed data for any property, so no price-per-square-foot comparisons can be made this period. Four of the five sales with disclosed prices, at Canal Drive, Gold Street, Oakridge Drive, and Jensen Street, named a bank as the buyer, which is typical of foreclosure-related deed activity. Several other transactions in the period, including the North Main Street cluster, the Rudy Daniel F. transfers, and the Westwood Drive transfer, moved property between an individual and a trust or family entity bearing the same name, rather than to a new, unrelated buyer. With 13 of 18 transactions lacking a disclosed price, this month's dataset offers limited visibility into the broader price trends for arms-length home sales in Belchertown.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 10 | 88 Gold St | Mosher Michael A | Country Bank For Savings | $178,369 |
| Jul 10 | 51 Lake Dr | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Mers | Byrne Francis J; Byrne Lisa M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 55 N Main St | Bock Family Trust; Bock Lynn M Tr. | Not disclosed | |
| Jul 10 | 55 North Main St Cold Spring Common Unit 3 | Bock Lynn M; Bock Max E | Bock Lynn M Tr.; Bock Family Trust | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 55 North Main St | Bock Lynn M Tr.; Bock Family Trust | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 4 Westwood Dr | Saunders Chad S; Saunders Heather D | Saunders Chad S Tr.; Saunders Heather D Tr. | Not disclosed |
| Jul 10 | 508 Amherst Rd | Wells Fargo Bank Na | Song Hoon | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 13 | 30 Canal Dr | Eldridge Bryan W; Eldridge Meghan C | Citizens Bank Na | $200,000 |
| Jul 13 | 99 Oakridge Dr | Hiersche Jason J | Bankesb | $110,000 |
| Jul 13 | 225 Gulf Rd | Witten Lyons; Belchertown Town Conservation | Certificate Of Compliance | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | 550 North Liberty St | Rudy Daniel F | Rudy Daniel F; Blaze Laura | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | (no address) | Rudy Daniel F | Rudy Daniel F; Blaze Laura | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | 450 S Gulf Rd | Pnc Bank Na; National City Bank | Sarna John D; Sarna Vivian M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | 110 Clark St | Bankesb | Rivest Bruce J; Rivest Joanne M | Not disclosed |
| Jul 13 | 7 Terry Ln | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Norwich Commercial Group Inc | Damato Gina; Maggi Gina | Not disclosed |
| Jul 14 | 281 Chauncey Walker St | Pine Valley Plantation Cooperative Corp | Massachusetts Clean Water Trust | $4,829,470 |
| Jul 14 | 118 Jensen St | Forgette Lynn A; Burton Dana | North Brookfield Savings Bank | $30,000 |
| Jul 14 | 51 Pine St | Morra Heather; Morra Thomas | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.