Belchertown Home Sale Prices Span $33,000 to $590,750 in Late Summer
BELCHERTOWN -- Seventeen property transfers were recorded at the Hampshire County Registry of Deeds for Belchertown between July 17 and Aug. 15, though only seven carried a disclosed sale price, limiting what can be said about the broader market this period.
MARKET OVERVIEW Of the 17 recorded transfers, seven listed a sale price. Among those, prices ranged from $33,000 for a property on Rimrock Drive to $590,750 for a property on South Washington Street. The median sale price among the seven disclosed transactions was $130,000. Ten of the 17 recorded documents did not include a sale price, including several that were not conventional owner-to-buyer sales; see Market Notes below. Based on the raw count alone, 17 recorded transfers over four weeks is a typical volume for the town, but with fewer than half carrying disclosed pricing, the period offers limited visibility into overall price trends.
TOP SALES The highest-priced transaction was 517 S Washington St, which sold for $590,750 on July 17; the deed lists sellers Shawn LeBeau and Andrea LeBeau, with HMA Mortgage and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. as grantee. The second-highest was 234 Stebbins St, sold for $250,000 on July 20; sellers were Sharon R. Orr and Andrew M. Orr, with Polish National Credit Union as grantee. Third was 1302 Federal St, Mayflower Unit 15, a condominium unit that sold for $225,000 on July 17; the seller was Marc Houlihan and the buyer was LRK Holdings LLC. Fourth was 353 Bardwell St, sold for $130,000 on July 20; sellers were John D. Orszulak and Janet M. Orszulak, with Citizens Bank NA as grantee. Fifth was 9 North Main St, sold for $50,000 on July 20; sellers were Kristina G. Weibel and Stephen M. Weibel, with Polish National Credit Union as grantee.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN South Washington Street had three recorded filings this period: the $590,750 transaction at 517 S Washington St on July 17, an undisclosed-price filing at 517 South Washington St the same day, and an undisclosed-price filing at 650 South Washington St, also July 17. Federal Street had two filings: the $225,000 condominium sale at 1302 Federal St, Mayflower Unit 15, and a separate, undisclosed-price filing at 1302 Federal St with the Town of Belchertown as grantee, both recorded July 17. Main Street had two filings with disclosed prices: 9 North Main St at $50,000 and 42 N Main St at $40,000, both recorded July 20. Among the remaining disclosed-price sales, three fell under $100,000 (Rimrock Drive at $33,000, North Main Street at $50,000 and $40,000 already noted), three fell between $100,000 and $500,000 (Bardwell Street, Stebbins Street, and the Federal Street condominium), and one exceeded $500,000 (South Washington Street).
MARKET NOTES Several of the period's recorded documents list a bank or credit union as a party rather than an individual buyer or seller, including Westfield Bank, Florence Bank, Citizens Bank NA, Country Bank for Savings, Polish National Credit Union, Pioneer Valley Federal Credit Union, US Bank Trust NA and Member Advantage Mortgage LLC. Four of the 17 recorded entries were not conventional buyer-seller property transfers: two were declarations of homestead (25 Everett Ave and 517 South Washington St), one was an order of notice (650 South Washington St), and one was a certificate for dissolving betterments (58 Poole Rd, with the Town of Belchertown and William Puchelt as parties). These filing types do not represent arm's-length sales and are excluded from the price-range and median calculations above. The only property type indicated in the data beyond single addresses was a condominium unit, at 1302 Federal St, Mayflower Unit 15; no other property-type detail is available from the deed data.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 17 | 517 S Washington St | Lebeau Shawn; Lebeau Andrea | Hma Mortgage; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $590,750 |
| Jul 17 | 1302 Federal St Mayflower Unit 15 | Houlihan Marc | Lrk Holdings LLC | $225,000 |
| Jul 17 | 517 South Washington St | Lebeau Shawn; Lebeau Andrea | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 58 Poole Rd | Belchertown Town; Puchelt William | Certificate For Dissolving Betterments | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 25 Everett Ave | Graveline Paul C; Connolly Leeanne | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 650 South Washington St | Guerin Jason; Us Bank Trust Na Tr. | Order Of Notice | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 171 Green Ave | Polish National Credit Union | Stefanik Patricia J Scribner; Stefanik Edward J Jr. | Not disclosed |
| Jul 17 | 1302 Federal St | Houlihan Marc | Belchertown Town | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 20 | 234 Stebbins St | Orr Sharon R; Orr Andrew M | Polish National Credit Union | $250,000 |
| Jul 20 | 353 Bardwell St | Orszulak John D; Orszulak Janet M | Citizens Bank Na | $130,000 |
| Jul 20 | 9 North Main St | Weibel Kristina G; Weibel Stephen M | Polish National Credit Union | $50,000 |
| Jul 20 | 42 N Main St | Seymour Norman J | Country Bank For Savings | $40,000 |
| Jul 20 | 34 Rimrock Dr | Shevock Joanne M; Shevock Joseph | Pioneer Valley Federal Credit Union | $33,000 |
| Jul 20 | 31 Segur Ln | Florence Bank | Thomas Raymond D; Thomas Deborah T | Not disclosed |
| Jul 20 | 1 Chauncey Walker Rd | Davis Cynthia A | New England Water Heater Co Inc | Not disclosed |
| Jul 20 | 34 Allen Rd | Member Advantage Mortgage LLC | Hussey Pamela | Not disclosed |
| Jul 21 | 113 Spring Hill Rd | Westfield Bank | Everett Elaine; Patterson Cassandra | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.