Northampton Disclosed Home Prices Range From $249,999 To $1.225 Million
NORTHAMPTON -- Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show 11 property transfers in Northampton between Aug. 14 and Sept. 12, but only four listed a sale price, ranging from $249,999 to $1,225,000. The remaining seven transactions, several of which named banks, credit unions or mortgage servicers as buyer or seller, did not disclose a price.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Of the 11 recorded deeds, four disclosed a sale price: $249,999, $517,750, $885,000 and $1,225,000. The median among those four is $701,375. Seven of the 11 transactions carried no disclosed consideration amount, which is common for deed records involving foreclosures, mortgage transfers or bank-to-bank transactions. With price data available for only about a third of recorded transfers, the raw count of 11 filings does not by itself indicate whether the period was active or quiet for traditional home sales; it reflects a mix of transaction types beyond conventional buyer-to-seller purchases.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 3 Tyler Court, which sold for $1,225,000. The sellers were Peter and Stacy Duggan; the buyer was Florence Bank.
At 88 Crescent St., the property sold for $885,000. The seller was Theodore Joseph Paradise; the buyer was Greenfield Cooperative Bank.
A property recorded simply as located in Northampton, without a specific street address in the filing, sold for $517,750. The sellers were Jake Thomas Gauntley and Valentina Isadora Valentini; the buyers were HMA Mortgage and Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc.
At 110 Prospect Ave., the property sold for $249,999. The sellers were Jennifer B. Korza and Nathan S. Korza; the buyer was Florence Bank.
In three of the four disclosed-price transactions, the buyer was a bank, indicating these filings represent transfers to lenders rather than sales to new homeowners.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
By price tier among the disclosed sales: one transaction fell under $500,000 (110 Prospect Ave., $249,999); two fell between $500,000 and $1 million (the unaddressed Northampton property at $517,750, and 88 Crescent St. at $885,000); and one exceeded $1 million (3 Tyler Court at $1,225,000).
The remaining seven transactions, all without disclosed prices, were spread across Clark Avenue, South Street, Maynard Road, New South Street, Williams Street and Spruce Hill Avenue. Notably, two separate filings recorded transactions at the same address, 17 New South St. (listed once as "Old School Commons Unit 204" and once as "Unit 204"), both dated Aug. 14 and both without disclosed prices. One involved Greenfield Savings Bank and Granite State Economic Development Corp. as sellers with a "Third Party Lender Agreement" as grantee; the other involved Dime Bank and Emerald City Partners LLC as sellers with "Rentals" as grantee.
MARKET NOTES
Beds, baths and square footage are not available from deed records for this period. Bedroom, bathroom and square-footage data were omitted accordingly.
A recurring pattern in this period's filings is the presence of financial institutions as parties to the transaction rather than individual buyers or sellers. Banks or lenders appeared as a party in at least eight of the 11 recorded deeds, including Florence Bank (twice), Greenfield Cooperative Bank, Digital Federal Credit Union, Greenfield Savings Bank, Dime Bank, Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc. and Village Mortgage Co. Two filings listed "Declaration of Homestead" as the grantee, and one listed "Third Party Lender Agreement" and another "Rentals" as the grantee, rather than an individual name. These entries reflect the type of instrument recorded rather than a conventional home purchase. No trust or estate transfers within the same family appeared among the entries reviewed for this period.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 14 | 3 Tyler Court | Duggan Peter; Duggan Stacy | Florence Bank | $1,225,000 |
| Aug 14 | 88 Crescent St | Paradise Theodore Joseph | Greenfield Cooperative Bank | $885,000 |
| Aug 14 | 108 Maynard Rd | Digital Federal Credit Union | Kunitz Michele; Tuck Anthony | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 17 New South St Old School Commons Unit 204 | Greenfield Savings Bank; Granite State Economic Development Corp | Third Party Lender Agreement | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 17 New South St Unit 204 | Dime Bank; Emerald City Partners LLC | Rentals | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 113 Williams St | Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc; Village Mortgage Co | Farrell David P | Not disclosed |
| Aug 14 | 142 Spruce Hill Ave | Maschino Christopher J Jr. | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 17 | (no address) | Gauntley Jake Thomas; Valentini Valentina Isadora | Hma Mortgage; Mortgage Electronic Registration Systems Inc | $517,750 |
| Aug 17 | 110 Prospect Ave | Korza Jennifer B; Korza Nathan S | Florence Bank | $249,999 |
| Aug 17 | 60 Clark Ave | Burson Esther | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 17 | 298 South St | Duprey Nicholas | Northampton City | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.