Disclosed Amherst Sale Prices Span $60,000 to $773,000 in August
AMHERST -- Hampshire County Registry of Deeds records show 16 property transactions recorded in Amherst between July 31 and Aug. 3, with disclosed sale prices ranging from $60,000 to $773,000. Only six of the 16 recorded transactions included a stated consideration amount.
MARKET OVERVIEW
Sixteen deeds were recorded for Amherst properties in the period, but just six, or 37.5%, disclosed a sale price. Among those six, prices ranged from $60,000 to $773,000, with a median of $407,000. The raw count of 16 recorded instruments points to a period of routine deed activity, but because most entries lack pricing and several involve non-sale instruments such as homestead declarations, condominium certificates and a power-of-attorney revocation, the count alone does not indicate whether buyer or seller conditions favored either side.
TOP SALES
The highest-priced transaction was 32 North Prospect St, Lovell House Unit 4, which sold for $773,000. Sellers Jay B. Silverstein Tr. and Karen C. Silverstein Tr. conveyed the unit to Robert Hopley and Claire Ann Hopley.
At 31 Pine Hollow, Sunwood Pines Unit 31 (208 Pine St), Claire P. Norton and Burt Ewart sold the unit to Lisa Troy for $585,000.
The same unit, listed as 208 Pine St, Sunwood Pines Unit 31, was recorded again with Lisa Troy as seller and Harvard Federal Credit Union as buyer for $526,500.
At 170 East Hadley Rd, Brook at Amherst Green Unit 23, Marcel Sena and Leandra Sena sold the unit to Srikanth Devanathan and Srividhya Kidambi for $287,500.
The same East Hadley Road unit was recorded again for $215,625, with Devanathan and Kidambi listed as sellers and First Colony Mortgage Corp and MERS as buyer.
The lowest disclosed price in the period was $60,000, for 12 Canterbury Lane, recorded from seller Ivon Arroyo to buyer Florence Bank.
NEIGHBORHOOD BREAKDOWN
Pine Street: Seven of the 16 recorded deeds involve 208 Pine St, including two units, 31 and 54, at the Sunwood Pines condominium complex. Recorded instruments there include the $585,000 and $526,500 transactions above, plus a condominium trust certificate for each unit and a declaration of homestead.
North Prospect Street: Three deeds involve 32 North Prospect St, Lovell House Unit 4, including the period's top sale at $773,000, a declaration of homestead filed by the buyers, and a condominium trust certificate.
East Hadley Road: Three deeds involve 170 East Hadley Rd, Brook at Amherst Green Unit 23, including the $287,500 and $215,625 transactions above and a recorded revocation of power of attorney.
Municipal acquisitions: Amherst Town is listed as buyer in three separate transactions with no disclosed price: 1095 West St and 15 Middle St, both purchased from Hampshire College, and 208 Pine St, purchased from Jonathan D. Solins and Mary S. Peterson.
Price tiers among the six disclosed sales: one under $100,000 ($60,000), two between $200,000 and $300,000 ($215,625 and $287,500), one between $500,000 and $600,000 ($526,500 and $585,000, two transactions), and one over $700,000 ($773,000).
MARKET NOTES
All six disclosed-price transactions involve condominium units or, in one case, a single-family property recorded to a bank. Buyers on three of the six disclosed-price deeds were financial institutions: Harvard Federal Credit Union, First Colony Mortgage Corp with MERS, and Florence Bank. The registry data does not indicate the purpose of these transfers. No bedroom, bathroom or square-footage data was available in the deed records, so price-per-square-foot comparisons could not be calculated. The remaining 10 recorded deeds were non-sale instruments, including condominium trust certificates, declarations of homestead and a power-of-attorney revocation, none of which disclosed a consideration amount.
Recorded Deeds
Source: Registry of Deeds. Sale amounts shown as recorded; transfers without a disclosed consideration are noted as such.
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Jul 31 | 32 North Prospect St Lovell House Unit 4 | Silverstein Jay B Tr.; Silverstein Karen C Tr. | Hopley Robert; Hopley Claire Ann | $773,000 |
| Jul 31 | 31 Pine Hollow Sunwood Pines Unit 31 208 Pine St Sunwood Pines Unit 31 | Norton Claire P; Ewart Burt | Troy Lisa | $585,000 |
| Jul 31 | 208 Pine St Sunwood Pines Unit 31 | Troy Lisa | Harvard Federal Credit Union | $526,500 |
| Jul 31 | 170 East Hadley Rd Brook At Amherst Green Unit 23 | Sena Marcel; Sena Leandra | Devanathan Srikanth; Kidambi Srividhya | $287,500 |
| Jul 31 | 170 East Hadley Rd Brook At Amherst Green Unit 23 170 E Hadley Rd Brook At Amherst Green Unit 23 | Devanathan Srikanth; Kidambi Srividhya | First Colony Mortgage Corp; Mers | $215,625 |
| Jul 31 | 12 Canterbury Ln | Arroyo Ivon | Florence Bank | $60,000 |
| Jul 31 | 208 Pine Hollow Sunwood Pines Unit 31 | Sunwood Pines Condominium Trust; Sunwood Pines Condominiums | D Certificate | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 208 Pine St | Solins Jonathan D; Peterson Mary S | Amherst Town | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 208 Pine Hollow Sunwood Pines Unit 54 | Sunwood Pines Condominium Trust; Sunwood Pines Condominiums | D Certificate | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 208 Pine St Sunwood Pines Unit 54 | Ewart Burt; Norton Claire P | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 32 North Prospect St Unit 4 | Hopley Robert; Hopley Claire Ann | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 170 East Hadley Rd Unit 23 | Kidambi Srividhya Attorney In Fact; Devanathan Srikanth | Revocation Of Power Of Attorney | Not disclosed |
| Jul 31 | 32 North Prospect St Lovell House Unit 4 32 N Prospect St Lovell House Unit 4 | Lovell House Condominium Trust; Silverstein Jay | D Certificate | Not disclosed |
| Date | Address | Grantor | Grantee | Sale Amount |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aug 3 | 208 Pine St Unit 31 | Troy Lisa | Declaration Of Homestead | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 1095 West St | Hampshire College | Amherst Town | Not disclosed |
| Aug 3 | 15 Middle St | Hampshire College | Amherst Town | Not disclosed |
Compiled from official town feeds, community organizations, and local press. Outside reporting is attributed inline.